Mid Island Weavers and Spinners (and other fibre enthusiasts) Guild

This is the Mid Island Weavers and Spinners (and other fibre enthusiasts) blog page. The group meets the first Wednesday of the month during the fall/winter/spring (September through to June). Meetings are held in the hall of St. Paul's Chruch downtown Nanaimo (across from the Dorchester Hotel - the entrance is on the other side of the church at 100 Chapel St, across the street from the new condos). 7:00 pm. Guests are welcome to come...bring your knitting, spinning wheel or other fibre addictions. Meetings usually consist of 5 minutes of business, show and tell (bring something), tea and cookies, and some sort of workshop, seminar or talk where you will learn something fibry and interesting.
We now have an email address: MIWSGuild at gmail.com

Tuesday, October 19, 2010


Once again, ANWG will be awarding conference grants (previously called scholarships) to selected members of ANWG member guilds. As in most recent conference years, 10 grants of $400 each will be awarded to cover conference costs -- registration, housing and meals. Three alternates will also be selected in the event that one or more winners are unable to use the award. The ANWG Board approved the following criteria for conference grant selection:
Applicant must not have previously received a ANWG confer-ence scholarship/grant
Applicant must indicate that acceptance of the grant would make a financial difference and enable conference atten-dance
Applicant must be an active and supportive member of her/his guild
Applicant must be willing to share the conference experience with their Guild members
In addition to the above requirements, preference will be given for:
An applicant who has never attended an ANWG conference
An applicant who has been weaving less than 5 years
There is no application form, rather, a nomination letter from the Guild President or ANWG Representative must be sent to the Con-ference Grants committee addressing the above criteria. A statement from the nominee must also be included. Only one applicant per guild may be nominated. The deadline to receive applications is October 31, 2010. Awards will be announced by December 15, 2010 (note: conference registration is due to open on January 1, 2011).
Applications should be sent electronically (preferred) to Alison Ad-dicks, Conference Grants Chair, addicks@centurytel.net or by postal service to: Alison Addicks at 2075A Johnson Rd., Rice, WA 99167-9741.

No comments:

Post a Comment